The Gearbox Software Forums Go to Gearboxity.comGo to Gearbox Software's Web site
Old March 13th, 2010, 03:44 AM   #1
xILukasIx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 31
Default Borderlands System Error

Hi!

I just installed Borderlands on my PC, on which I just installed Windows 7 32 Bit (reinstalled it).
Now, all the installations for the Game and the DLCs went flawlessly, but now when I want to start Borderlands, I get the following error:

Quote:
Borderlands.exe - System Error

The program can't start because wxmsw28u_core_vc_custom.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.
How do I fix this?

I can't believe I just reinstalled my whole PC just because I wanted to get rid of the GPF errors, and now I can't f-ing start the game because of another error!!
What the hell is wrong here??
Spending 60+ for a game that does not work properly?


Regards,

Lukas
xILukasIx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 03:48 AM   #2
KooriiShiiemu
Upgrading...
 
KooriiShiiemu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Penticton, BC, Canada, North America, Earth
Posts: 3,884
Send a message via MSN to KooriiShiiemu Send a message via Yahoo to KooriiShiiemu Send a message via Skype™ to KooriiShiiemu
Default Re: Borderlands System Error

I did a quick Google search on the file you mentioned. This might give you a bit more info to work with. I'm not a tech guy really but I hope that will help you out a bit until you get someone in here who is a tech guy who knows more about this kind of stuff.
__________________
A tanuki ate my signature.
KooriiShiiemu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 05:13 AM   #3
xILukasIx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 31
Default Re: Borderlands System Error

Ok, I found the .dll file in the Binaries folder from Borderlands, copied it over to /Windows/system, and then I got another error about another .dll file.
I copied all the .dll files from the Binaries folder in the system folder after the 3rd file or so, cause I noticed that all the missing files were in the Binaries folder lol.

Now I get this error:
Quote:
---------------------------
Message
---------------------------
Failed to find default engine .ini file to retrieve My Documents subdirectory to use. Force quitting.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
I hate errors!!!

Why is my installation soooo f***ed up?
I guess I'm gonna reinstall Windows 7 and Borderlands again...


Regards,

Lukas
xILukasIx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 05:34 AM   #4
Relics
What?
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,283
Default Re: Borderlands System Error

Quote:
I found the .dll file in the Binaries folder from Borderlands, copied it over to /Windows/system, and then I got another error about another .dll file.
Something sounds very wrong with your system. I've had a look at my own system and my copies of the dll, and they're all stored within application folders (Borderlands\Binaries, Arkham\Binaries\, Audacity) never within my C:\Windows directory. This leads me to believe that the exe should detect the relative path (ie. where it is being run from) and know to look in the relevant 'Binaries' folder - something which yours clearly isn't doing.

This could also explain the issue you're having with the default ini file error - if relative paths aren't working correctly, you'll find a lot of files can't be found.


You've mentioned that you're running Windows 7, what language? English? What game language?

Have you done anything to your system that might cause an issue: installed the game to a non-default location? Remapped your documents folder (eg. D:\Documents instead of C:\Users\<Name>\Documents)? etc.

EDIT: This thread may assist http://gbxforums.gearboxsoftware.com...ad.php?t=79437
If you're using a Steam copy of Borderlands, make sure you try verifying the game integrity (right click game in Steam -> properties -> verify)
__________________

Last edited by Relics; March 13th, 2010 at 05:42 AM.
Relics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 05:58 AM   #5
xILukasIx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 31
Default Re: Borderlands System Error

EDIT:
WEIRD!!!!
When I chose "Play Borderlands" from the Discs Menu, Borderlands WORKS!
When I start it from a shortcut on my Desktop, it won't!
I can also start it from the Binaries folder without a problem.
A newly created Shortcut on the desktop works too.
Very weird stuff...

I think my problem is fixed now!


Thank you for your answers!



Hi!

I had Borderlands installed in the default directory.
I also tried to install it to a non-default directory (other HDD)
Windows 7 is english, and so is the game language.
I did not remap my documents folder too, Windows 7 was JUST fresh installed.
I have the DVD version of Borderlands.


I think I'm gonna reinstall Windows 7 now.


PS:
How do I go about my AddOn-Installation limits?
I already used them like 3 times now!
All because Borderlands didn't work properly.


Regards,

Lukas

Last edited by xILukasIx; March 13th, 2010 at 06:22 AM.
xILukasIx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.