The Gearbox Software Forums Go to Gearboxity.comGo to Gearbox Software's Web site
Old September 22nd, 2012, 01:32 PM   #1
sinistersinner
First Access Club Member
 
sinistersinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 83
Default Tiled Screenshots

Hi.

I have a question about making tiled shots with the ingame console.

On the left is a normal Screenshot with Steam (F12). The one on the right was made with the console command "tiledshot 6" wich I scaled down in photoshop to my original screen resolution.




You'll notice some blurry black grid on the right screenshot. I have no idea how to get rid of them. Is there a console command for that "effect" to turn it off or a setting in one of the ini files?

Thanks in advance!
sinistersinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2012, 01:52 PM   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #2
botman
GBX
 
botman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outside the box
Posts: 7,824
Default Re: Tiled Screenshots

The black lines are caused by the overlap between tiles. You need to specify a second parameter (after the multiplier parameter) to increase the size of the overlap between each tile...

http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/TakingScreenshots.html

For example, try using "TiledShot 6 128" or "TiledShot 6 256" to see how that looks (the default overlap is 64 pixels).

EDIT: Nice screenshot by the way!
__________________


"If I had a world of my own, everything would be nonsense. Nothing would be what it is, because everything would be what it isn't. And contrary-wise; what it is, it wouldn't be. And what it wouldn't be, it would. You see?" - Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

Last edited by botman; September 22nd, 2012 at 01:53 PM.
botman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2012, 01:54 PM   #3
Jabberwock xeno
s6 wannabe/Gun collecter
 
Jabberwock xeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The depths of the Abyss
Posts: 1,559
Default Re: Tiled Screenshots

Quote:
Originally Posted by botman View Post
The black lines are caused by the overlap between tiles. You need to specify a second parameter (after the multiplier parameter) to increase the size of the overlap between each tile...

http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/TakingScreenshots.html

For example, try using "TiledShot 6 128" or "TiledShot 6 256" to see how that looks (the default overlap is 64 pixels).

EDIT: Nice screenshot by the way!
On a somewhat related note, I notice the steam screenshot looks way worse than the tiled.

Does steam's screenshots not accurartly capture all the details, or does tiled screenshots enhance detail, somehow?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobtm View Post
I like the way you guyz think For your dedication to waffle based murder, I award you all 40,000 MANLYness points.

Guns I want/willing to trade for: Level 65 or above Patton, Nailer, Sentinel, T.K.s wave, Leviathan, Lady finger, Blister, Elephant gun, Dove-hornet hybrid, The spy (body 5, vector acc)
Ned's SMG, level 68 max stats Wee wee's super booster
Jabberwock xeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2012, 02:00 PM   #4
sinistersinner
First Access Club Member
 
sinistersinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 83
Default Re: Tiled Screenshots

Quote:
Originally Posted by botman View Post
The black lines are caused by the overlap between tiles. You need to specify a second parameter (after the multiplier parameter) to increase the size of the overlap between each tile...

http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/TakingScreenshots.html

For example, try using "TiledShot 6 128" or "TiledShot 6 256" to see how that looks (the default overlap is 64 pixels).

EDIT: Nice screenshot by the way!
Thanks botman, but I already tried the second parameter up to 4096. Doesn't make a difference.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabberwock xeno View Post
On a somewhat related note, I notice the steam screenshot looks way worse than the tiled.

Does steam's screenshots not accurartly capture all the details, or does tiled screenshots enhance detail, somehow?
Thats because the tiled screenshot six times the size of the normal screen resolution. In my case "tiledshot 6" is 11520x6480 pixels. I then scaled it back down to 1920x1080 with photoshop. That's where the details come from.
sinistersinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2012, 02:25 PM   #5
Jabberwock xeno
s6 wannabe/Gun collecter
 
Jabberwock xeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The depths of the Abyss
Posts: 1,559
Default Re: Tiled Screenshots

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinistersinner View Post
Thanks botman, but I already tried the second parameter up to 4096. Doesn't make a difference.



Thats because the tiled screenshot six times the size of the normal screen resolution. In my case "tiledshot 6" is 11520x6480 pixels. I then scaled it back down to 1920x1080 with photoshop. That's where the details come from.
So the game renders what's currently on screen at a higher resolution than what you are currently using?

Neat.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobtm View Post
I like the way you guyz think For your dedication to waffle based murder, I award you all 40,000 MANLYness points.

Guns I want/willing to trade for: Level 65 or above Patton, Nailer, Sentinel, T.K.s wave, Leviathan, Lady finger, Blister, Elephant gun, Dove-hornet hybrid, The spy (body 5, vector acc)
Ned's SMG, level 68 max stats Wee wee's super booster
Jabberwock xeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2012, 02:43 PM   #6
U1849KA
Emperor of Cashlin
 
U1849KA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: all hallows sunset
Posts: 7,978
Default Re: Tiled Screenshots

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jabberwock xeno View Post
So the game renders what's currently on screen at a higher resolution than what you are currently using?

Neat.
Basically. It divides your screen into sections that are taken at full resolution. So, instead of the top left corner being the size of the top left corner, it blows it up to fill the screen and takes the shot of that corner at your full resolution, then the next tile and the next.

Then it patches them all together into a much larger image. When you then shrink that down to the size of the normal shot, it has more detail because it was able to capture more detail to begin with, and because taking a large image and scaling it down always makes it look like it's got finer details than an image that was just created at the end-product size.

You'd still have the most detail leaving the tiledshot at full size, but the images tend to be too large to use easily.
__________________
(182 * P / 2) = Yummy
Nothing is ever finished.
Nothing is ever finished.
Nothing is ever finished.
Goddess-elemental // Mr. Stabby // Puncho and Lefty // ODST //|RED TEXT BONUS LIST||The Ideal Playthrough||Starting Levels and Triggers
U1849KA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2012, 03:07 PM   #7
Jabberwock xeno
s6 wannabe/Gun collecter
 
Jabberwock xeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The depths of the Abyss
Posts: 1,559
Default Re: Tiled Screenshots

Quote:
Originally Posted by U1849KA View Post
Basically. It divides your screen into sections that are taken at full resolution. So, instead of the top left corner being the size of the top left corner, it blows it up to fill the screen and takes the shot of that corner at your full resolution, then the next tile and the next.

Then it patches them all together into a much larger image. When you then shrink that down to the size of the normal shot, it has more detail because it was able to capture more detail to begin with, and because taking a large image and scaling it down always makes it look like it's got finer details than an image that was just created at the end-product size.

You'd still have the most detail leaving the tiledshot at full size, but the images tend to be too large to use easily.
Well, if you scale it down, it SHOULDN'T have any more detail or look better than a normal screenshot, they'd have the same number of pixels, at least in my head.

EDIT:

Is there a way to get the game to render everything this way, as you play it? If it's the same pixel resolution, I'd imagine it wouldn't be that much harder to run.

Also, the amount of difference in the two images it too large for it to even be due to that, I think something else is at play, here.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobtm View Post
I like the way you guyz think For your dedication to waffle based murder, I award you all 40,000 MANLYness points.

Guns I want/willing to trade for: Level 65 or above Patton, Nailer, Sentinel, T.K.s wave, Leviathan, Lady finger, Blister, Elephant gun, Dove-hornet hybrid, The spy (body 5, vector acc)
Ned's SMG, level 68 max stats Wee wee's super booster

Last edited by Jabberwock xeno; September 22nd, 2012 at 03:10 PM.
Jabberwock xeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2012, 03:40 PM   #8
sinistersinner
First Access Club Member
 
sinistersinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 83
Default Re: Tiled Screenshots

There is nothing else.

If you do a normal Screenshot it's your resolution you run the game in. In my case its 1920x1080. The tiled shot is 11520x6480 (six times the size).

So of course you get way more detail on thet size than on the original. If you scale it back down to 1920x1080 then you have way more image information in that. That's where the details come from.

And no you can't play the game this way. A screenshot made with "tiledshot 8 516" takes about 4 minutes to render.

You can try downscaling with a powerful Nvidia SLI or AMD Crossfire setup. The graphic cards then render the game in doubled size and scale it back down to your screen resolution. That way you get way smoother edges.
sinistersinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2012, 06:14 PM   This is the last staff post in this thread.   #9
botman
GBX
 
botman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outside the box
Posts: 7,824
Default Re: Tiled Screenshots

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinistersinner View Post
And no you can't play the game this way. A screenshot made with "tiledshot 8 516" takes about 4 minutes to render.
Yeah, it's slow and it takes up TONS of system memory to save each of the tile screenshots and then stitch them together into one large shot.

I'm not sure why the overlap parameter didn't help. I've tried this out on few shots and didn't see this problem (but most of my shots were in darker areas of the game, not against a bright white sky).
__________________


"If I had a world of my own, everything would be nonsense. Nothing would be what it is, because everything would be what it isn't. And contrary-wise; what it is, it wouldn't be. And what it wouldn't be, it would. You see?" - Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland
botman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2012, 08:09 PM   #10
Jabberwock xeno
s6 wannabe/Gun collecter
 
Jabberwock xeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The depths of the Abyss
Posts: 1,559
Default Re: Tiled Screenshots

Quote:
Originally Posted by botman View Post
Yeah, it's slow and it takes up TONS of system memory to save each of the tile screenshots and then stitch them together into one large shot.

I'm not sure why the overlap parameter didn't help. I've tried this out on few shots and didn't see this problem (but most of my shots were in darker areas of the game, not against a bright white sky).
I'm still not understanding.

The detail of an image corresponds directly to the amount of pixels, and the contrasting HSV between them.

If it's possible to render the game with better detail by the latter, then why isn't it done? It shouldn't be nessacry to do the tiled thing to get those details.

Argh, i'm having a hard time explaining what I am thinking.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobtm View Post
I like the way you guyz think For your dedication to waffle based murder, I award you all 40,000 MANLYness points.

Guns I want/willing to trade for: Level 65 or above Patton, Nailer, Sentinel, T.K.s wave, Leviathan, Lady finger, Blister, Elephant gun, Dove-hornet hybrid, The spy (body 5, vector acc)
Ned's SMG, level 68 max stats Wee wee's super booster
Jabberwock xeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.