The Gearbox Software Forums Go to Gearboxity.comGo to Gearbox Software's Web site

Go Back   The Gearbox Software Forums > Gearbox Games > Borderlands 2 > BL2 Fan Creations > Art & Fiction

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 28th, 2012, 01:49 PM   #1
lucasassislar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 75
Default SplitScreen PC Tool v1.2 BETA *Supports L4D2 and RE5 too*

Hi guys! I'm an experienced .NET programmer, and really got angry because they didn't include a Split-screen option on the PC version of the game.
So, I searched the internet, and found several ways of running the game on split-screen or multi-monitor, but all of them involved having several programs, and are not easily modified for playing with different number of players.
Here's my tool, for playing Borderlands 2 on the PC on Split-Screen, easily!

Cool stuff:
- Runs 4 players on only 1 monitor!
- Runs on multi-monitor perfectly
- Runs on Split-Screen (with no issues!)

Supported Games
- Borderlands 2
- Left 4 Dead 2
- Resident Evil 5

Link to download of newest version, 1.2.010 BETA:
Dropbox: http://adf.ly/4923054/beta-12010

I'd like to remember this is a BETA version, I'd reallly appreciate feedback, so I can fix it, and make it perfect!

This workk with the Steam Version!


Video of it working: http://youtu.be/agzFWkTb0_U

Instructions of usage:
1. Click on [+ Add a Game]
2. Click on [Browse...]
3. Search for your Borderlands2.exe file. If you have the Steam Version, it's on "C:\Program Files(x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\borderlands 2"
4. Click on Borderlands 2.
5. Select the number of players.
6. Set the players screens.
7. If you want to change Game ID and other options, click NEXT.
8. If not, you can already start the game by clicking "PLAY".
9. WAIT for all the screens to position! Be patient, this takes the delay time (10 seconds) times the amount of players + the delay time.
10. Set Network to LAN.
11. Open a Game on any Player.
12. Join the LAN game on other players.

Known issues:
- If your PC can't handle the game at your screen`s resolution, set your Windows`s resolution to lower BEFORE opening the App.
- DON`T modify the resolution in-game.
- You have to press START on the menus in order. Player 1, Player 2 and it goes. Or else 1 gamepad may control 2 screens (thanks for the tip, handakes! - http://forums.gearboxsoftware.com/member.php?u=61490)

How it works:
- The app modifies the WillowEngine.ini based on user input and resolution of the screen.
- Then, the app starts Borderlands, and monitors the Process and sets the Window`s locations to the appropriate area.

CHANGELOG
Version BETA 1.0
Remade program, now it has a whole new system for inserting other games too!
- The program removes the start bar -> Just close the program and the start bar will come back.
- The program removes Borderlands Borders, so it first perfectly up to 4 players on just 1 screen.

Version BETA 1.0.22435
- Fixed an issue where you couldn't change the Save IDs or the application would crash
- Added a function where the app will minimize everything on the desktop.
- Now the system only plays Borderlands if Steam is found
- Fixed an issue where the half-horizontal screen would be too tall, and overlap the other (also making texts go out of screen).
- Fixed an issue where the program would not show the task bar again.
http://adf.ly/UNGrQ

Version BETA 1.0.22442
- Added a Logging System. If the program fails to open, it will create a log with information about the problem.
- I'm releasing the Debug build now.
http://adf.ly/UNGoj

Version BETA 1.0.22459
- Added Full Support for Left 4 Dead 2.
- Made the app cleaner, the source looks better now.
- This version is BUGGED!
http://adf.ly/URN9k

Version BETA 1.1
- Fixed bugs I made on version 1.0.22459
- Added Full Support for Left 4 Dead 2 (works perfectly now)
- Made the app cleaner, the source looks better now.
http://adf.ly/URQtJ

Version BETA 1.1.001
- Check for errors on opening and try to save them to a log.
http://adf.ly/UTUHX

Version BETA 1.1.002
- Compilled with .NET 4.0, instead of 4.5. I'm not using anything that came with the new 4.5, so it's not worth it to remove some users from using it. Also, this might fix some bugs.
http://adf.ly/UTwmG

Version BETA 1.1.003
- Full PDB files now, should it make it easier for me to trace exceptions. No changes to anything else.
http://adf.ly/4923054/beta-10003

Version BETA 1.2
- Completely changed the AI. Now you can add games to your library, and play them easily!
http://adf.ly/4923054/beta-12

Version BETA 1.2.001
- Change the DLL system, now it won't load all DLLs inside the Games folder (there's no more Games folder). It should fix the bugs for everyone. (the old system was kind of dumb).
- Added methods for the application to show errors.
http://adf.ly/4923054/beta-12001

Version BETA 1.2.002
- Compiled every dependent DLL on .NET 4.0 Client.
- Fixed a bug where if you decreased the number of players, the players screens would not be cleared.
http://adf.ly/4923054/beta-12002

Version BETA 1.2.003
- Fixed Log Making. Now, if the program bugs, send the log to me!
http://adf.ly/4923054/beta-12003

Version BETA 1.2.004
- Fixed a bug where the program would not start
http://adf.ly/4923054/beta-12004

Version BETA 1.2.005
- Added Resident Evil 5 to the list of possible games. Started developing handler for Borderland 1.
http://adf.ly/4923054/beta-12005

Version BETA 1.2.006
- Now it sorts the Game List
- Added checkBoxes, so it's easier for users to understand the FindGameForm.
- Fixed bug when a game is uninstalled
http://adf.ly/4923054/beta-12006

Version BETA 1.2.007
- Now it sorts the Game List
- Fixed a bug with Left 4 Dead 2
http://adf.ly/4923054/beta-12007

Version BETA 1.2.008
- Fixed bug where fonts would get a value of 0.
- Fixed a bug where the L4D2 would look for a GameOption that doesn't exist and wasn't needed.
- Confused versions, this shoild be 1.2.009 but ended up being 1.2.008 again.
http://adf.ly/4923054/beta-12008

Version BETA 1.2.009
- Now the app tells you when you want to play a game that positioning doesn't matter (on this day, only RE5).
- Fixed buttons on the UI.
- Number of players was not adapting
- Other small improvements
http://adf.ly/4923054/beta-12009

Version BETA 1.2.010
- Hotfix: Bug on the MonitorControl when the GameInfo is null.
http://adf.ly/4923054/beta-12010

Last edited by lucasassislar; September 13th, 2013 at 09:24 AM. Reason: More stuff now!
lucasassislar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 02:33 PM   #2
lucasassislar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 75
Default Re: PC Offline Co-Op Tool v0.1

CHANGELOG
Version 0.11
-> Added support for 1 player on keyboard + mouse. So, if you only have 1 gamepad, you can play on keyboard and let your friend on the gamepad!
lucasassislar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 02:39 PM   #3
Blkshroud
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Default Re: PC Offline Co-Op Tool v0.1

Wow thats cool if I had the pc version this would definitely come in handy.
Blkshroud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 03:03 PM   #4
Chaosheade
Heresiarch
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: PC Offline Co-Op Tool v0.1

I love this idea! I got the PC version to play with my friends but I can't play co-op with my wife at home. Can't wait to try it out.
Chaosheade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 03:09 PM   #5
lucasassislar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 75
Default Re: PC Offline Co-Op Tool v0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blkshroud View Post
Wow thats cool if I had the pc version this would definitely come in handy.
Cool . It's a pitty Gearbox didn't release native support for multiple offline players

---------- Post added at 05:09 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:05 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaosheade View Post
I love this idea! I got the PC version to play with my friends but I can't play co-op with my wife at home. Can't wait to try it out.
Cool! I've always wanted to play this game with my friends too, the only difference is they don`t have good PCs(some of them can`t even run Solitaire well >.< ), so their only way of playing is playing on multi-monitor here with me .

ps.: If you see any bug, just report it in this post that I'll try to fix it right away!
lucasassislar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 04:45 PM   #6
lucasassislar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 75
Default Re: PC Offline Co-Op Tool v0.11

Anyone tested?
lucasassislar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 05:08 PM   #7
Maxunit
First Access Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 36
Default Re: PC Offline Co-Op Tool v0.1

Actually you can run multiple instances from Borderlands 2 on one PC with Sandboxie, but I think for this you need the commercial version :/
Maxunit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 05:12 PM   #8
lucasassislar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 75
Default Re: PC Offline Co-Op Tool v0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxunit View Post
Actually you can run multiple instances from Borderlands 2 on one PC with Sandboxie, but I think for this you need the commercial version :/
I tested Sandboxie... On the instalation it Blue-screened my PC, the driver it uses for making the SandBox didn`t work on my PC, destroying my Windows installation. It seemed like a cool software, but it`s a pitty it didn`t work.
I also tested DXWND, which worked for Borderlands 1, but the game didn`t want to start...

I`m on a Windows 7 x64.
My PC specs for reference:
Intel Core i7 3770 (running on Turbo Boost 3.9Ghz)
GTX 660 Ti
8 GB DD3
lucasassislar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 08:06 PM   #9
lucasassislar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 75
Default Re: PC Offline Co-Op Tool v0.1

...anyone tested the app?
I really wish there were feedback about the app =/
lucasassislar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2012, 10:44 PM   #10
silic0sis
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: PC Offline Co-Op Tool v0.1

Interesting app, both my monitors have different resolutions so only part of the game window shows on my 2nd monitor since the resolution on my 2nd monitor is much lower than my main monitor.
Will we be able to set different resolutions for different monitors with the resolution changer?
silic0sis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.