The Gearbox Software Forums Go to Gearboxity.comGo to Gearbox Software's Web site

Go Back   The Gearbox Software Forums > Gearbox Games > Borderlands > Borderlands General Discussion

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 26th, 2009, 11:46 AM   #21
Jatt
Wheelman Supreme
 
Jatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 313
Send a message via AIM to Jatt
Default Re: Borderlands will NOT require a hard drive on Xbox 360

Yeah I didn't know either, that is pretty sweet, even if there is a limit.
Jatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2009, 05:40 AM   #22
Toxicdude12
''The Awesome One''
 
Toxicdude12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: On The Internet
Posts: 227
Default Re: Borderlands will NOT require a hard drive on Xbox 360

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jatt View Post
Yeah I didn't know either, that is pretty sweet, even if there is a limit.
Yea ...i suppose :marshdabeachy:

BORDERLANDS
Toxicdude12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2009, 07:51 AM   #23
austin
Graphic Design Artist
 
austin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Somewhere in the Midwest=p
Posts: 482
Default Re: Borderlands will NOT require a hard drive on Xbox 360

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxicdude12 View Post
Yea ...i suppose :marshdabeachy:

BORDERLANDS
Um....Ya know what, nevermind.

Anyways, I'd love to purchase a new 120 GB hard drive but they are still really expensive! So I'm sticking with my 10GB for now=/
austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2009, 08:31 AM   #24
Mayonaka
Member
 
Mayonaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 237
Default Re: Borderlands will NOT require a hard drive on Xbox 360

Good idea this way some one who just likes to play games and isn't so technologically literal isn't pissed off when there game won't play if they have a 360 arcade or something... on the bright side i have a ps3 with a 250 GB HD. Never have to worry .... this was not meant to start any console quarrel.
Mayonaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2009, 08:53 AM   #25
SSPenguin
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 65
Default Re: Borderlands will NOT require a hard drive on Xbox 360

Quote:
Originally Posted by austin View Post
Um....Ya know what, nevermind.

Anyways, I'd love to purchase a new 120 GB hard drive but they are still really expensive! So I'm sticking with my 10GB for now=/
ebay, got a working 120GB HD for under $75. having the 120GB is a savior, no more space management (damn 20gb HD)
SSPenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2009, 07:26 PM   #26
Zerocoal
Forum Crawler
 
Zerocoal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 467
Default Re: Borderlands will NOT require a hard drive on Xbox 360

Quote:
Originally Posted by SSPenguin View Post
ebay, got a working 120GB HD for under $75. having the 120GB is a savior, no more space management (damn 20gb HD)
I'm still using a 16gb (i think it's a 16, might be a 20) even though i have a 120 that came with my elite. The only time i have to manage my memory is when I install a game to the HDD though. Kinda waiting for Borderlands before i switch over to my awesomely awesome 120gb.
Zerocoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2009, 08:00 PM   #27
MartianMan
Member
 
MartianMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 660
Send a message via MSN to MartianMan
Default Re: Borderlands will NOT require a hard drive on Xbox 360

Why would you need a hard drive?
MartianMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2009, 11:43 PM   #28
Whimsy Sammich
Schrödinger's Panda
 
Whimsy Sammich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 335
Default Re: Borderlands will NOT require a hard drive on Xbox 360

You don't, Martian, unless the game makes really big save files. As has been pointed out here, that doesn't happen on consoles much. It basically comes down to the developers' technical wizardry. A hard drive is still very luxurious, though. If you like to rip music CDs and play them instead of the game's music, you'll need some space for that. Those handy memory cards have puny storage capacity even compared to the already small 20 Gb HDD. At least the smallest HDD available for the XBox has enough room to install a game. Hard drives can generally serve up data a whole lot faster than the optical drive, and from what I've read the XBox is no exception. If the game's engineered to take advantage of that, installing to drive can cut load times down a lot. Some games might actually suffer from trying to do that because they are not engineered for that. Halo 3, for example, was written before the install feature came out, so it runs best off the optical drive. My guess is that it's because the game's already using the HDD for something important, so trying to load from it what should be loading from the DVD causes a bottleneck.

I didn't know Live offered offsite storage for games saves and such. Thanks, Botman.

I'm eager to see what Steve meant by "take full advantage of," since my Playstation's HDD still has lots of space. Will it just be quicker loads and more space for saves, or has GB come up with something unprecedented?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpookyMulder View Post
I'd like to see self-inflicted healing! Have Roland take the giant pistol to the side of his head, sweat a moment as he mentally double-checks healing bullets are loaded, and pull the trigger; out the other side of his skull blast green health numbers and sparkles.
How's that for mind-blowing?
Whimsy Sammich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2009, 08:08 PM   #29
xakari
achievement unlocked
 
xakari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: St Louis
Posts: 37
Default Re: Borderlands will NOT require a hard drive on Xbox 360

is the game optimized for install? i know there arent supposed to be lots of load times/screens, but hopefully it wont be adverse to install it a la halo.
xakari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2009, 08:12 PM   #30
iv JINX vi
Registered Stoner
 
iv JINX vi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: H-VEGAS 615!
Posts: 383
Default Re: Borderlands will NOT require a hard drive on Xbox 360

Quote:
Originally Posted by Despondence View Post
Why would it be? I haven't played a game that required a hard drive and have not seen any issues. Plus the new NXE makes uploading games easy so that you can minimize load screens if you like.
is that what that did? i always wondered that lol. i uploaded a game onto my xbox the first time they announced that,but i never noticed any difference and could nevere figure out what it did lol. i will definitely be uploading this game to my harddrive. i loves me some quick loading screens
__________________
My new GT is MR F(zero)URTWENTY.. damn xbl made me change it -.-
..:LEGALIZE:..
iv JINX vi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.