The Gearbox Software Forums Go to Gearboxity.comGo to Gearbox Software's Web site

Go Back   The Gearbox Software Forums > General Discussion > Games and Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 18th, 2007, 11:28 AM   #11
AttyKissy
is Twice Blue
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 6,348
Send a message via AIM to AttyKissy Send a message via MSN to AttyKissy
Default Re: Does the new Xbox 360 Halo 3 Edition have the new chipset?

No, the HDMI port 360's were being manufactured before any of the 65nm specs were. HDMI was announced before 65nm was, remember?

Really, it doesn't matter. The 90nm's are fine with the new cooling set ups which you will get with any HDMI set up, so don't worry.
__________________
[20:52] Pkmnrulz : I like hot guys
AttyKissy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2007, 11:33 AM   #12
MasterChief1128
. : [M@§TĖR C] : .
 
MasterChief1128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,660
Send a message via AIM to MasterChief1128
Default Re: Does the new Xbox 360 Halo 3 Edition have the new chipset?

Not true. All the Elites dont have the new chips, although there are more Elites with new chips than anything else.

According to EVERYONE on the Xbox forums, ANY 360 with a manufactured date of July or later WILL have the new chipsets. They also have pics to prove it.

Anyways I have a $100 Best Buy gift card so I'll probably just sell my premium and by an Elite. I have an HDTV and could use the extra storage space anyways...
__________________
www.cameronfield.wordpress.com
MasterChief1128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2007, 11:37 AM   #13
ArmpitofDoom
Ding!Hardcore
 
ArmpitofDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MoToR CiTY
Posts: 2,543
Send a message via AIM to ArmpitofDoom Send a message via MSN to ArmpitofDoom
Default Re: Does the new Xbox 360 Halo 3 Edition have the new chipset?

I wasn't referring to the elites, rather the premium/core boxes.
__________________

Saving the internets one post at a time.
ArmpitofDoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2007, 11:51 AM   #14
Smelly5ocks
Part-Time Minion
 
Smelly5ocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Where Don't I Live?
Posts: 1,627
Send a message via AIM to Smelly5ocks
Default Re: Does the new Xbox 360 Halo 3 Edition have the new chipset?

the last three numbers on the serial should tell you the manufacturing date like 606 is suppose to mean manufactured in june. This was my understanding of it at least, but I'm not 100% about it.
__________________

Quote:
<**> Veegie probably due to douchebaggery
Smelly5ocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2007, 12:30 PM   #15
AttyKissy
is Twice Blue
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 6,348
Send a message via AIM to AttyKissy Send a message via MSN to AttyKissy
Default Re: Does the new Xbox 360 Halo 3 Edition have the new chipset?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArmpitofDoom View Post
I wasn't referring to the elites, rather the premium/core boxes.
Yeah, but still we had pictures or rather proof that Microsoft had manufactured Premiums with HDMI way before they announced 65nm specs were ready to be produced.
__________________
[20:52] Pkmnrulz : I like hot guys
AttyKissy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2007, 01:03 PM   #16
MasterChief1128
. : [M@§TĖR C] : .
 
MasterChief1128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,660
Send a message via AIM to MasterChief1128
Default Re: Does the new Xbox 360 Halo 3 Edition have the new chipset?

Does anyone know if it's possible to remove the serial number sticker off one 360 and put it on another? Best Buy screwed me over and I think it's time for revenge...
__________________
www.cameronfield.wordpress.com
MasterChief1128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2007, 01:59 PM   #17
Sco
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: Does the new Xbox 360 Halo 3 Edition have the new chipset?

I really don't think 65nm chipsets have not been released yet..

Quote:
If you've been waiting for the Falcon -- the 360 motherboard housing a smaller, cooler 65nm chip -- to arrive before making your 360 purchase, you may be waiting a few months yet. According to Xbox 360 guru Dean Takahashi, the first 360s housing the new chip are probably on there way from China right now. So, why will it take months for them to make it onto store shelves? First of all, the new 360s have to make a 6 week trip on the boat. The second reason is inventory. See, Microsoft still has plenty of 90nm Xbox 360s to sell out at retail before the Falcon starts cropping up. The real question then, is how long that's going to take. As Takahashi points out, Halo 3 and the recent price cut will likely drive sales, which should help thin the 90nm population, but ultimately it will take a few months before the Falcon is readily available. In Takahashi's estimation, "it's probably just in time for Christmas." Of course, he also points out that there is no way to tell one Xbox from the other. At this point, the only way you know you have a 90nm box is if it doesn't have an HDMI port. Even then, there are 90nm boxes with the HDMI port, so you still won't be sure when the Falcon arrives. All we do know is that the new chips are coming.

The way we see it, you can A) wait until Christmas, or B) buy one now and have it replaced with a Falcon after it Red Rings. Remember, the Xbox 360 is all about choice.
Source: http://www.xbox360fanboy.com/2007/08...for-christmas/

Like the article said, H3 editions are just another gimic to sell the remaining 90nm chipset 360s before the 65nm go on the market. And no, Elites do not have the new chips obviously. I've seen pictures of opened ones which pretty much confirms that they still have the old 90nm chips.

I'll be waiting till Christmas most likely. :|
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by §partan 8 View Post
I don’t want to be a nerd no more

Last edited by Sco; September 18th, 2007 at 02:05 PM.
Sco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2007, 02:34 PM   #18
Truk
Laying down the Gnar
 
Truk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The 666 of Tejas
Posts: 1,573
Default Re: Does the new Xbox 360 Halo 3 Edition have the new chipset?

Alright, so I'm pretty sure I'm going to buy a 360 within the next month. Experts tell me which to get that won't mess up!
__________________
Gnarbro!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Veegie
He isn't asking why they shed, he's asking why they do not get haircuts...
Truk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2007, 02:49 PM   #19
MasterChief1128
. : [M@§TĖR C] : .
 
MasterChief1128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,660
Send a message via AIM to MasterChief1128
Default Re: Does the new Xbox 360 Halo 3 Edition have the new chipset?

Did you read any of this topic? If you can find one with a manufacture date of July 2007 or later you're good (or so I've been told by numerous people).

Who knows though. You might wanna wait until all of the old (crappy) ones are gone, and there are only ones with the new chipsets in stores.
__________________
www.cameronfield.wordpress.com
MasterChief1128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2007, 07:00 PM   #20
Phopojijo
A Loose Screw
 
Phopojijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 6,338
Send a message via AIM to Phopojijo Send a message via MSN to Phopojijo
Default Re: Does the new Xbox 360 Halo 3 Edition have the new chipset?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waffles View Post
Nice double, but Ive heard that the serial No. 728 has the falcon chipset, I got a 727, I dont mind though I have a 2 year bestbuy warranty. Just fish $80 out and your done :3
Oh lord.

1) Red ring of death: 3 year Microsoft warranty anyway.
2) Normal warranty is 1 year. So if something happens between 12 and 24 months then it might help you... until they find some way to deny you claiming it.

Here's a hint.

The sales people make commission on selling extended warranties... there's a REASON why they make commission!
__________________
Core i7 920, Foxconn Renaissance, 6GB DDR3 1600MHz, nVidia GTX460 w/ GTX 260 Running PhysX Duty
X-Fi Platinum, Bose QC15 Headphones, Windows 7 Professional x64
Razer BlackWidow Ultimate, Wacom Cintiq 22HD + Samsung 23" LED + LG 20" + Glossy 22" LCD
Phopojijo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.