The Gearbox Software Forums Go to Gearboxity.comGo to Gearbox Software's Web site

Go Back   The Gearbox Software Forums > General Discussion > Games and Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 5th, 2009, 11:26 AM   #1
TheOneBread
elBelreleelaeldel.
 
TheOneBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,244
Default Halo CE booting up into a black screen.

Halo PC runs just fine, but every time I install CE it boots up into a black screen with the music playing. I've tried reinstalling and patching a few times with no luck yet. Running on Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit.
TheOneBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 01:34 PM   #2
Dr@Home
‎‎‎‎‎‎
 
Dr@Home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: on a mote of dust suspended in the goatma
Posts: 151
Default Re: Halo CE booting up into a black screen.

Is AA on?
Dr@Home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2009, 01:45 PM   #3
TheOneBread
elBelreleelaeldel.
 
TheOneBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,244
Default Re: Halo CE booting up into a black screen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr@Home View Post
Is AA on?
Ah, so that's what it was... works fine now, thanks!
TheOneBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 05:26 AM   #4
Recon415
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Halo CE booting up into a black screen.

Excuse me for bumping a month old thread, but I seem to be having the very same problem and the answer here was not clear.

I assume AA means anti aliasing? How can I turn it off without accessing the Settings?
Recon415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 07:44 AM   #5
zeph
The Silent Photographer
 
zeph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 8,271
Send a message via AIM to zeph
Default Re: Halo CE booting up into a black screen.

Turn it off in your video driver's control panel.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kornman
Can someone translate that into KMs (kilometers, not kornmans )?
zeph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 03:05 PM   #6
Recon415
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Halo CE booting up into a black screen.

/facepalm

Thanks
Recon415 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2009, 11:08 AM   #7
erkki445
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Smile Re: Halo CE booting up into a black screen.

i have ati radeon 4670 video card how can i disable AA from catalyst center.
erkki445 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2010, 04:13 PM   #8
npgilbertson
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Smile Re: Halo CE booting up into a black screen.

another way to disable the aa for windows seven is to open C:\Windows\System32\compmgmt.msc
then go to services and apps.
then click on services.
then click on amd external events utility and end the process.
this way is also for if you are having errors trying to disable the aa.
npgilbertson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2014, 01:02 PM   #9
aYmaSwexz
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Default Re: Halo CE booting up into a black screen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by npgilbertson View Post
another way to disable the aa for windows seven is to open C:\Windows\System32\compmgmt.msc
then go to services and apps.
then click on services.
then click on amd external events utility and end the process.
this way is also for if you are having errors trying to disable the aa.
hi, I am dutch, i found everything till services. i dont know how to get to the external events utility and end the process.
aYmaSwexz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.