Ambra is a Meltdown Goddess

(lowlines - PS4) #1

So I started playing as Ambra today, and the way I like to do a new character is run them through Void’s Edge and/or a couple of other story missions until I’ve unlocked all their lore and hit rank 12. I found Ambra played ok, but definitely was not one of my favourites and her lore got done before I even hit rank 9. So I decided to do a bit of Meltdown and holy crap! It’s like she was made for it!

Her Staff of Radiance has a pretty moddest target acquisition as all it takes is having a target relatively lined up with the center of the screen and you can suck away their health like none the wiser. The closer you can get to them makes it harder for them to catch on they are being snacked on (being first person and all). Granted it takes a bit of practice to adjust your alignment to accommodate when they “try” to run away, but I have even gotten a few First Bloods because of it. On the surface, the attack doesn’t look all that lethal and players seem to largely underestimate how much quicker and more accurately it can suck away their health and by then it’s often too late, especially for players that are slower than Ambra.

Then you have her Sunspots. I like to drop them close together midway up a Minion lane and maybe behind some geometry to make it harder for enemy players (that are trying to cover the lane from way back on their side) to take them out but still within range so that Minions will take damage from them. At the same time, they double as a portable healing station with a very quick cooldown on reuse allowing you to stick around where the action is at for longer. If stuff is going south though I can retreat back a bit and drop a fresh Sunspot to heal, as with the right helix build it will heal faster than those crappy healing stations.