An idea to fix Toby's force field

(Jbmsquared) #1

I might be new to the forums but I’m no novice when it come to the game. Toby caught my eye right of the bat when the game first launched. Such a unique character design, something you’d only get in a game like battleborn. Which is why it’s sad to see him so underpowered in pvp. His damage outputs a fine, his arc mines are great. His ultimate is now usable. (Thank you gearbox) but now his force field needs some love. Many people on the forums feel his force field needs a health buff, but I see a different route. Instead of the force field lasting forever, and having a set amount of health, make the force field be invincible, and only last a short time. A lengthy cool down but only last ten seconds or so. This would allow Toby to truly be territorial but not overpowering as you could still get up on him and take him out. Leaving his health as it is. And fixing Toby. It’s all just an idea.

(The Handsome One) #2

It should at least block 1000-1200. Hell, Isic’s wards at max level block 300 damage each when overcharged which is 1500 for each ward and he has his Aegis, overshied and another shield that blocks 2000 damage with his level 10 helix.

(Awesome By Analysis) #3

[quote=“jbmsquared, post:1, topic:1543264, full:true”]Instead of the force field lasting forever, and having a set amount of health, make the force field be invincible, and only last a short time. A lengthy cool down but only last ten seconds or so.
[/quote]

An invulnerable 10 second shield that the creator and allies can still shoot through is insanely powerful. Kelvin’s Ice Wall only lasts something like 6 seconds and it’s an ultimate that blocks the attacks of allies as well.

Putting it on a long CD is also counterproductive since part of Toby’s whole shtick is that he fires through his own shield in order to power up his shots. The shield isn’t just a defense mechanism: it’s also part of his offensive kit.