Artifact Level?

How are you to tell what level an Artifact is BEFORE installing it? Does it even matter what level it is?

Thanks for helping!

The level to use it. I can’t remember the exact amounts but I’m going to have a quick look.

Artifact level 1 - 14
Artifact level 2 - 20
Artifact level 3 - 26 and 32 (on the wiki)
Artifact level 4 - 38
Artifact level 5&6 - 44

Some only drop in TVHM.

If it’s an element/level you’ve already unlocked, it won’t let you ‘use’ it in the first place. Once you’ve got more than one artefact, you can see them listed (with level) when you go to change them in your inventory/skill tree.