BC vs HC: some test and a thought exersize

So for everyone’s knowledge, best times for each max teching straight to them are:

15:00 to 15:30 on the HC (+/- for seconds of RU lag)
12:00 to 12:30 on the BC (+/- for seconds of RU lag)

Please feel free to challenge my times, I’m not a pro at HW2 races by any means, this was just me trying to tech to it with as little RU lag as possible, but building SY and ADV research module together I cought a few seconds of RU lag a few times.

Now, this might look damning considering that if neither side is molested during the process, the HW2 races can deploy their beast a full 3 minutes earlier than the HW1 race. HOWEVER, the HW2 race seems to be much more vulnerable during the build process.

2 points of vulnerability for the HW2 races are:

1. post adv research build but prior to finish of BC research (between 7 and 8 minutes) this is assuming that it is a bug that the HW2 races can continue researching after the loss of the module).
  2. The cap ship fac on the SY between 8 and 12 minutes.

The HW1 race is not without its vulnerability point also. Sniping the research ship during Heavy Guns research would be unrecoverable due to the time for heavy guns research and the time it takes to rebuild all research vessels. Didn’t time it in that case, but I would guestamate it putting the HC past the 20 minute mark.

The difference is that I have no concern about what else I can build during my research of heavy guns. I can get either 2 destroyers or 1 destroyer 1 carrier and a second destroyer 3/4 built prior to my HC finishing. Not to mention plenty of RU for whatever else I want to build to protect my research ship or attack the BC production.

So in my mind, no clear advantage here between races because I DONT know what the HW2 races would have to do (or can do given available RU and Production) to protect themselves during their times of vulnerability.

Thoughts?