Best character/spec for new player?

hi so im new to borderlands and im having a really difficult time trying to figure out what character and build to choose for my first playthrough since the amount of skill combinations and weapon choices are overwhelming and theres not that many resources to get help with since the game just came out.

what would you recommend and why? thanks!

Go slow, and try things that seem fun. Don’t worry about it or take it all that seriously. It’s a game, it’s meant to be fun.

I like pets, so my first 2 characters are FL4K. I picked abilities that seemed fun, and so far it’s working for me.

1 Like

Yeah don’t worry too much about having a viable build or being the most awesome character. Your first playthrough should just be about enjoying the game and then you can worry about all the extra stuff when you do your TVHM playthrough

Like the poster above I went with FL4K because I like pets and followers, FL4K also has the strongest heal in the game and I like to support my teammates.

In other FPS games what do you enjoy doing?

From what I’ve read here on the forums, Amara may have the best survivability and damage output.
My first playthrough was as Fl4k. His green skill tree is really good for surviving, as there is a skill that lets your pet try to revive you while you get a second wind, as well as large boosts to health regen.
I focused on the orange skill tree, which is based more on critical hits. Though mid game your action skill basically becomes a “yeetus deletus” button to fleshy enemies.

As other people have said, look through the trees and see what might tickle your fancy. If you want to spam your action skill I’d suggest Amara, Zane, or FL4K (Hunter tree). If you wanna focus on gunplay then Moze might be for you since Iron Bear is really only useful as a 10 second pause button to regen your shields and deal a minimal amount of damage while you do it.