Champ in private, slaughtered in public

I am still new to MOBAs and so I’m trying to get the tactics down. I’m finding I can dominate most every versus game when there are AI bots involved, I get crazy high scores with all around good stats, but when I play a match with actual people, I play horrible. I feel like my team can never group together and get on the same page, and I end up getting double or triple teamed constantly. It takes the fun out of the game.

I’m not finding much as far as general advice for strategy, so if anyone has helpful advice, I’d love to hear it. I tend to work most with Montana and Marquis. With Montana, I try to build him up cold, so he doesn’t overheat and regenerates health when the barrel is not hot. I push the lanes with him and stun and then freeze and blast away, retreating when things get crazy. This works well against AI, but I die quickly otherwise.

I feel like a tank in private matches against AI but fall down easy as soon as I play with actual people. I feel like I overheat a lot faster when in an actual match as well, which is causing problems.

I love this game in private versus modes and in story mode - I just wish I could enjoy it as much in a public versus match, without getting slaughtered.

First we have to admit the matchmaking is currently crap.
And the only tips I can give you are :

• Focus the objective like crazy
    meltdown > kill the minions and push
    incursion > kill the minions, push and focus the sentinel
    capture > move together and capture points
  • Try to rank up as fast as possible, that means kill bots and build constructions
  • Pick up shards between waves of bots
  • In capture try to get the neutral varelsi scouts

But mostly, DO NOT FIGHT unless if it’s needed, rest of the time focus on your objectives. Especially on meltdown (A.K.A the most played gamemod I believe)

4 Likes

I feel you bro - I play mostly PvE and Battleborn is my first moba-like game. (Its no moba btw)