Character Nerf and Buff

This is my first time being particularly active in a game forum, but the amount of callouts for buffs and nerfs is crazy!

I guess I’m just stuck in an “old time” mindset where games would not have post-release content, updates, tweaks, etc. The amount of complaints about characters x, y, and z are pretty crazy, and somewhat disheartening.

I play games to have fun, and I choose characters that I think are fun in every game that I play. So while one character may be an “A” tier, in terms of whatever ranking system you choose to look at, shouldn’t the main thing everyone focuses on is the question “Do I have fun playing as this character?” If yes, then great! If no, then try someone else out. Just because you are losing consistently in PvP, I don’t think that should ruin your experience of a game.

If I gave up after losing in Street Fighter II, I would not have some great childhood gaming memories that I have today. Part of the fun, to me at least, is learning the in’s and out’s of a character so well, that situations are reacted to before you can even really think about it. It may just be that I still have the same mindset that I had when I was a child, and I didn’t care who was most powerful, I just chose who I thought looked cool and had moves/skills that I like(d), but I still choose to play that way. I find a character(s) whose skillset(s) that I like and enjoy and try to become the best I can with them, because a player’s skill level is more important than character power level.

While I know it is my choice to read the forums and go through the various posts and whatnot, I think it would be nice if a section was made titled something like “Character Balancing/Tweaks” and then discussion of balancing could go there.

Anyhoo, rant over.

3 Likes