Complete noob - please help

Hello everyone,

Apologies, I have a really basic question but I haven’t been able to find a definitive answer anywhere. I’m absolutely loving the game, have about 70 hours in it now, but I fundamentally do not understand the loot system or the structure of end game.

I am farming bosses and moving between maybe 3 and 6, but the drops seem to be continual garbage and the higher mayhem level adds nothing in terms of quality. I have one gun - a Boom Sickle, and it shreds everything. But that dropped at Mayhem level 1. My drops at level 6 are terrible in comparison. It’s base damage is 3500x10. The guns I’m seeing drop now are less than a tenth of this, with assault rifles putting out a measly 2000 or so, and smgs are even worse.

I have absolutely zero problem with this in general. I love grinding and I love the core gameplay. But I feel completely directionless at the moment. All these guns are dropping and I have no way of evaluating them. So, is the goal of the game to find that gun that is massively better than everything around it, which can drop anywhere and at any mayhem level. Or, in contrast, should I be looking for gradual improvements in my weapons and them moving through the mayhem levels?

In short, I’m confused.

Thanks for reading.

The devs did not scale the rest of the legendaries properly. As you increase in mayhem level less weapons become viable. In example a mayhem 10 legendary will feel like its meant for mayhem 6.

The only legendarys that damage scales properly are few and the m6+ exclsuive boss drops.

Thats the game at the moment. Unique hard to find boas drops.

As you increase in higher mayhem levels youll notice less drops and the quality becomes less.

If you look aeound sinxe mayhem 2.0 ull see alot of unhappy customers who were enjoying the game previous 2 mayhem 2.0.