Concepts and mechanics: A casual approach to learning the game

This guide is mostly intended to help out people who don’t have much experience in this game yet or are trying to get into a new character. It covers a few things, new players can use to get a smoother start into the game.

I won’t hide the fact that I’m no professional in this game and I honestly treat PvP in this game as almost non existant unless I have people to play with, until some of the stuff is fixed that made me stop playing PvP last autumn. But I use the existing features in this game to try to get to a point where I don’t feel like a huge burden for a team and can play at least the occasional PvP game and have fun with it.

I decided to write this little “How to” to describe my way to get into this game, since I have the feeling that many people just think that the only way to learn it is the hard way by jumping into PvP and repeatedly get stomped into the ground. While I agree that at some point you can’t avoid going into PvP to improve your game and learn all the small little details to be successful, I also think that it is the wrong approach to a game - which should be something you play for fun - to do this only by playing a mode that can be a little frustrating at times.

Every game has two big parts you have to learn to improve your playstyles and these are

• Concepts and game mechanics.

• Tactics

My method only covers the first part of that. The whole idea behind it is that the game became much more fun for me personally when I got to a point where I could say for myself:

• I know my characters: I know what they can do, I know where I’m expected to be in a game and I know what can’t be done while playing them. I’ve played around with many combinations of different skills and items until I found something that makes me personally happy and makes playing that character fun.