Do many people just pick a balanced Mayhem level for themselves?

I’m fairly new to Borderlands 3, having only picked it up last month, though I’ve been playing the crap out of it lately.

I’ve always liked trying out harder difficulties in games, to test my (admittedly average) skills. But this Mayhem mode has me banging my head on the wall. I’d like to keep plugging away at level 10, but I’m coming to realize it takes a lot of the fun out of the game that I had been having.

I know a lot of people on these forums are pretty serious players who have probably worked the gun/gear math so they can shred anything (I really can’t bring myself to farm), but I’m wondering of there are other players who just decided to pick a middle-of-the-road mayhem level that gives them a bit of challenge, but isn’t frustrating?

Is there any point to Mayhem, other than to find more annointments to take on increasingly difficult levels later?

There’s a few of us who use it to find the difficulty level we’re most comfortable with.

You’ll also want to use at least level 1 if you want to continue playing in NVHM after completing the main story - it ensures levelling works consistently, apart from anything else. NVHM+MH1+ is essentially TVHM.

2 Likes

I like Mayhems 4 and 8 since they have the least amount of modifiers and the most upsides (for M8, guaranteed anointed gear and M6 exclusives).

However, once Mayhem 11 comes out I’m going there. I want something close to the UVHM experience.

If you find the modifiers challenging instead of annoying, than it is a harder difficulty if you want that. However, a lot of the modifiers are more of a challenge for the eyes than anything, so if you don’t find them appealing then no, there is no point to mayhem at all.

1 Like

Short answer: yes.