Fan fiction/cosplay questions

Idk if this is really the best place to ask these buuut I’m curious and would really like to start fiddling with writing and cosplay.

So I’m a Terrible artist. I just don’t understand color theory but would like to try cosplay. Would cosplayers look down on me for buying props that I just can’t make look right myself? (I’m going to try my best though! Haha)

As for fan-fiction, What liberties are we allowed to take with the characters? I would hate to offend the creators of the character or the community if I went too far into the future or some other thing that may not be canon if I interpret something wrong.

1 Like

@NatsumeRyu I think knows more about cosplay than I do so he could help there.

As far as fan-fictions go the hardest thing would be staying somewhat true to the characters. If you are too far off on their personality then you run the risk of making that character’s die hard fans angry. Other than that it’s free game and you can do pretty much anything. I know that @Benedict_87 and @EdenSophia do an amazing job of staying on character with their fan fictions. Maybe they can help.

I can not help with art. At all.

2 Likes

if you’re worried about upsetting folks, im afraid youre out of luck- someone, somewhere is always upset, lol.

a ton of cosplayers only make what theyre comfortable with and get help or purchase other parts.

i almost exclusively work in armor/robot bits - im no help with fabric. so youll see a phoebe and rath couple - i helped her with the armor, and she did all the sewing! :slight_smile:

and while i understand color theory (college) and can make just about any color with just a few base paints, im bad at designing my own characters- in that way i fail at color theory. so i wouldnt worry too much about it.

in the end it just depends on you.
play to your strengths, do what you want to do- doesnt matter if youre experienced or not! :slight_smile:

3 Likes