Feedback From A Game Developer's Perspective

Hello,

As the title suggests I’m a game developer; I mostly work in the indie space and on engine architecture currently but have a lot of lead design and FPS experience under by belt, so I hope the dev team takes my feedback a bit more seriously.

Before I begin I would like to say that I have not read every other post in on the forum, so if by chance it has been covered elsewhere I’m sorry. I also didn’t play to much because my ping was in 180-300 range making it miserable online, my feedback will mostly revolve around the starter cards and map/mechanic design.

Lobby UI:

The first thing I noticed was the windowed lobby, immediately I went into the setting to try to make it fullscreen, it is very strange in my opinion to have the game fullscreen only when starting a match. I don’t know if this is a launcher or an UE4 thing (I work mostly in Unity) but change it to start in fullscreen if you can, even if you have to rescale the lobby UI.

The play button being in the top left of the lobby UI also felt strange to me, most games place them center or bottom right and that is as a gamer what I was used to. I felt like I had to search for it even though it is in relatively plain sight. A better place for it might be in the navigation bar near collection or another commonly used UI button. Overall the lobby UI can look crowded and maybe if more screen real-estate was used it wouldn’t seem as crowded to me. But that is all my opinion and I can’t tell you how to design a pre-alpha GUI. All I can say is just remember KISS and iterate, I have redone a main menu as much as 3 times in an alpha prototype.

Maps: