How do you take a PS3 save and overwrite character on PS4

i know that when you try to do PS4 to PS3 you have option to overwrite character on ps3, but on ps4 you only get save as new or cancel, how do you overwrite

What I did was: rename the character on ps3. Transfer to ps4. Check that its transferred properly . Delete the old version on ps4. Rename the new version to the original name.