I cannot support Gearbox if they are anti-police

Gearbox has postponed the June 4 update to show solidarity with the Black Lives Matter (BLM) movement. As a retired cop, I find this appalling. BLM is calling to defund police across the nation. They accuse all cops of being racist. They accuse entire departments of being racist. They call for death to police. In a department of 4,000 sworn, I never saw any overt racist acts by anyone I worked with. I was a cop and I am not a racist. My department was not racist. Our District Attorney was not racist. Our judges were not racist. The problem of racial inequality is not due to, or perpetuated by law enforcement. The problem is extremely complex and won’t be easily solved by blaming cops. Unarmed white men are killed by police. Unarmed Hispanics are killed by police. What makes the news? An unarmed black man killed by a white officer. The death of George Floyd was unacceptable and the officers are all in jail for it. Four bad cops are the reason George Floyd is dead; however, cops are not the reason the black community suffers racial inequality. If Gearbox wants to support change towards racial equality, I fully support that. If I knew how to accomplish it, I would do it in a heartbeat. But I cannot support a game that supports this hateful group.

45 Likes

I think most people never even go to the Black Lives Matter website and look around. BLM isn’t making any secret of their ‘defund’ the police position.

5 Likes

It’s a game calm down

11 Likes