"I love you Battleborn, but why don't you love me?" A new player's take on the Free Trial experience

It is a very frustrating experience. Well, that’s my TL;DR version for you folks who are busy with things to do in life, but for the rest of you, I invite you to read on. :grinning:

I started playing this game approximately 9 days ago on pc. It was a blast for me. I checked the price on Steam. It felt a bit pricey but… I could see myself picking it up if I managed to get my friends interested.

Here lies my problem. My group wanted to take a break from the MMOs to try something else. Nothing too shooting-based or pvp-centric either. I sang Battleborn’s praises so high that it would embarrass myself on other days. I raved about the large number of melee chars and hybrid melee-shooter ones. I talked about the very well, fleshed out characters that grows on you. I played down the pvp by pointing out it has a fun Vs Bots mode and unlockable sub-campaigns using in-game coins. I told my friends, all of whom have splashed a lot to buy cosmetics stuff in MMOs, that Battleborn also has the same cosmetics and loot which could interest them to grind or buy. But inwardly, I felt that it wasn’t enough to convince my friends who are so used to seeing the sheer number of F2P games in the current market.

With reluctance, I also came clean to my friends about the declining player base. I told them of my own experience, how I waited for an hour (or three) to get a match in a queue separated by novice and veteran ranks. I had the patience to wait the queue because I have read 30+ Battleborn-related online reviews (most of which compared Battleborn vs Overwatch and gloated how the latter killed its competitor) prior to downloading the free trial, and so have been forewarned about the waiting times. The same however, may not apply to my friends or many of the free trial players.