I’m new to this, so help me understand

Im currently playing on mayham 8 after slowly move up from 4. I was really enjoying the progression and trying out new legendaries I never used before. Then all of a sudden my when I got to mayhem 8 all of guns and skills just stopped being effective. Even the ones that drop in mayhem 8 don’t seem to work. I respect my character a couple times but no change. Nothing seemed to help After dying countless times trying to defeat the cartel boss,(like dark souls levels) i was compelled come to the forum to see if it was bug in the game I didn’t know about. If anyone can answer: Is this a Mayhem 8 thing? Do I need an update or something? It seems so counterproductive to have all these fantastically designed guns, with all these unique properties, and they are so ineffective at higher levels, I hope it’s just me. …This is my first forum post of any kind, so please be nice.

Mayhem 8 and up will require a very optimized build and some of the best gear. Currently, most people are using weapons like the sandhawk, Kaoson, Yellowcake, and OPQ to clear high mayhem content.

6 Likes

Are you able to clear Mayhem 7 quite easily? If yes, then Mayhem 8 shouldn’t be difficult — at least this is the what GBX thought it would be.

I never tried Mayhem 7 then going to Mayhem 8 so I don’t know. I went from M4 to M10 directly.

1 Like

Just as Lioness_Rampant mentioned. The higher mayhems require much more min/maxing than the lower levels do. That’s where the increased “difficulty” comes from. Between mayhem 1 and 4, almost anything will work. The higher difficulties will require high tier guns with anointments that specifically line up with your skill synergies. The three secondary bonuses on class mods and relics also become much more relevant.