I'm Back. And Now, A Rant

(Awesome By Analysis) #1

After not posting or reading the forums for about 2 months, I’ve finally decided to break my silence, mainly because I started playing El Dragon over the last couple of days and I felt the need to speak out over some utterly terrible design stuff, in the hopes that the devs will actually listen and learn.

To preface this, while a lot of this will focus on El Dragon, this isn’t just about El Dragon (some of it is about him, though). I’ve done a couple of matches as El Dragon in PvP and fair number in PvE. The PvP was pre-nerf, and a vast majority of the PvE was post-nerf (mix of story and ops, favoring ops).

El Dragon is, in my not-that-humble opinion, the most poorly implemented character in the entire game by a well and truly massive amount. His theme is excellent and and mechanics are well intentioned, but the way they have been put in game completely destroy any semblance of elegance in play that might have been set up by good design.

The main problem with El Dragon is that he’s supposed to be a melee glass cannon that uses mobility to survive. He’s got excellent running speed, which is a good starting point, but El Dragon’s abilities, which were probably imagined to augment his mobility, are implemented so poorly that he isn’t actually mobile when using them.

• Clothesline doesn’t respond to mouse-turning and responds incredibly slow to keyboard turning, making it incredibly difficult to actually adjust the thing while using it, and gets hung up on the most random things while passing through others (you won’t pass through Brutes, which are almost omnipresent in the new ops but you’ll pass through all other kinds of stuff).