In need of job advice!

Hi all. I’m currently a full time student working weekends for a local online shopping company. However, they have offered me a (almost) full time position now at a higher rate than I am paid. I am debating with myself taking up this position, but not sure whether to take it. I would be working 6 hours a day, 4 days a week at £7.80 an hour, which makes it about £800 a month according to this income calculator. I would be working in populating their online stores with products bought in by my boss. To take up the job I would have to quit college - did anyone else here do this to work full time and have some advice? I enjoy what I do at the company but on the fence about leaving college for them. Someone persuade me to stay in work/leave for education? Could use some pros/cons of each.

Thank you in advance! :smile:

Don’t quit college. $1000 a month isn’t worth it.

8 Likes

What’s minimum wage in the UK - or do they even have one?

Big question is: do you want to spend your career doing data entry, or do you have ambitions beyond that? I’m with @Poisonedbite on this - stay in college and complete your program. If they like you that much, maybe they’d be willing to give you full-time hours in the holidays.

1 Like

College education seems to lend itself to fostering a career in one of three ways (anyone feel free to chime in if I’m omitting something):

1. There’s a strong vocation behind your educational path, and what you learn translates directly into a job.

2. There is no strong vocation behind your educational path, but this degree will allow you at some point to check the “I have a college degree” box at places that require it but don’t necessarily care what the degree is in.

3. You get deep enough into whatever field you study that there are no real jobs besides research at this level, so you become an educator in your respective field.