Is somethig going on with Story Mode? If so, it's bad

Lately I’ve been running story mode to collect gear. Was very happy to see that it had been toned down a little and was much more approachable for new players. But today, YIKES!! The enemies seem to have increased at least three-fold.

First Renegade seemed to have three or four times the usual number at the very beginning. Just tried Void’s Edge and the beginning is ridiculous. I quit and I have a combined CR of 561; I’ve played a lot.

Has anyone else noticed this or am I mistaken. If story mode had been this difficult when I started playing, I definitely would not still be playing.

1 Like

RNG on enemies can sometimes be very brutal (Like 394958757 Ronin spawning at the beginning of the Algorithm and/or the HENCHMAN fight).

Then you have characters having been nerfed/buffed which may also change the experience on how they perform in PvE.

Then there’s the difference between Normal and Advance difficulties.

THEN there is also the difference between Solo PvE and doing missions with others (the more people the harder it’ll be/more things will spawn).

2 Likes

This is just regular, normal, five-man story mode and it’s totally different today than it has been all week. Hope it’s just a fluke.

Was there an optional objective active and, if so, what was it? I’ve had some particularly brutal fights where the optional objective involved two or more badass or super badass enemies and RNG rolled some extras into the general enemy pool.

Either that, or the game thought you’d intended to select Advanced difficulty, and helpfully switched it for you.

No optional objective, just trying to jump down to protect the core and an unusual number of thrall came up to stop us. Pretty hard on the 3’s and 4’s I was playing with. Was really hoping permanent adjustments had been made to story mode because I think the first few are too hard and turn people off right at the beginning.