I've launched into a play through of this. I'd forgotten how good it is!

(Nerdosuave) #1

Honestly, this game is why I started playing PC games almost 20 years ago. Still, to this day, I still have dreams of the spacescapes in HW2, and compare every game to HW1. Near perfect story-telling and gameplay!

Let me know what you think as I’ve just launched the channel!

NerdoSuave on Youtube

4 Likes
(Charvell) #2

Great start! You’re playing like a first timer. Very effective recruiting tool :slight_smile:

(Nerdosuave) #3

Ha! I guess I really am a first timer, since it’s been 20 years!

(Charvell) #4

Wow 20 years. I bought my copy when it first came out. Got it at Walmart, of all places. I was looking for something new and different. The Homeworld logo and picture on the box grabbed me and I ‘had’ to find out what this was all about. Got it home and installed it. Started it up and was completely blown away. It was better than pie :smiley:
I was hooked and immediately started to mod it. Long story short: Best first time experience of a game I have ever had.

2 Likes
(Nerdosuave) #5

Well, I’m guilty of rounding. 17 years ago. I actually picked up my copy at CompUSA… Man I loved that place. I never got into modding, my programming skills have always been lacking. But some of the mods I’ve seen are deeply impressive. If I had been smarter in my youth, I would have paid a lot more attention to learning code!

I always approached games as playing a novel, and that’s what sucked me into Homeworld. It felt like playing in a universe like Dune. How can someone resist that? I agree: Best first game experience, hands down.

3 Likes
(Kurtis Millette) #6

I wanted to do a LP of the Remastered by playing as a pirate, eg. only non-combat vessels constructed, hinging on salvage corvettes. Problem is, they only carry their pray to the Mothership, rendering my carriers next to useless. So i didn’t bother. Hopefully they can fix that eventually but I’m not getting my hopes up.