Joined a game and beat it but campaign did not sync

i joined a game via matchmaker and it was only 1 mission ahead of my campaign and we beat the game. logged off and back on to my solo play and it was all the way back to before the graveward missions. bug or intended?

When you get up to the missions that you have already done, you will get a pop up and an option to skip

i hope so. thanks