More of that feedback stuff

(Trust me, I'm an Engineer) #1

I’ll try to keep this concise in hopes you all at gearbox will be able to read and use this. Here are some bullet points from my time on this test.

Weapon cards: there was decent diversity for both playstyle and damage type. Balance is going to need a little more work before launch. Also, an alt ability on all weapons (no matter how silly the alt seems) would help foster a more solid understanding of the right click for new players.

Ability cards: While there was diversity here, there was a little bit less of a selection for playstyles. Cooldown abilities (ones that paired well with adrenaline rush [which was AWESOME!]) were primarily set for area denial (turrets/mines) than damage (meteor). While this would be more for the starting player to learn, going ham with the ability ideas would breed interesting playstyles.

Player models: this one is sort of a ying/yang thing; it looks like you have plans for a customizable player model. This will be really cool and I’d pay to make my player look unique. However, beware color ‘exploitation’ (for lack of a word closer to what I’m looking for). The ability to pay to have your character blend better with the environment is a real danger here. Yes, there are character outlines, but (at least in my case) some players will let those blend and play strictly looking for the actual character.

Player tracking: “wall hacks,” and model outlines are cool. I would like to hear more from the player characters though (such as slightly louder footsteps [as the characters are always running anyways] and breathing [especially for cinders]). I know some people want mini-maps, but I feel that diminishes the audio tracking you’ve worked on and reduces the potency of “wall hack” abilities.