My concern with BL3 story

I’m very late to the party, and I am probably going to talk about something someone probably brought it up over and over again. I apologize in advance if that’s the case.
This is just my opinion about the game. I am not saying I am correct. Actually I would love to hear other people’s thoughts and see if my idea is correct or not.

I am not gonna talk about my biggest issues with the game cuz it seems like I can find ton of videos and posts about it. My second one is actually the OST and the overall vibe of the game.
When I was finishing the campaign for the first time, I really enjoyed the OST, and frankly, I still love them. However, I started playing Borderlands 1 on my Switch a few days ago, and I realized something when I played that ECHO records of Tannis. I’ve played all Borderlands series (the most recent before 3 being Pre-sequel), but it’s been a while since the last time I played 1 and 2. And I must have forgot what I actually enjoyed from the first and second installment. That was stark contrast between dreadful and desolate settings of Pandora and the humor. When I turned on that ECHO records of Tannis, I could feel how terrible Pandora actually is and how the environment is driving people mad. If I remember correctly, that’s the feeling I got in the first few minutes of playing Borderlands 2 as well. That kind of atmosphere set up beautifully for a villain like Handsome Jack to come in and become the great villain that he was. This also relates to OST. While I really love the background music in Borderlands 3, I never actually felt that despair and dreadfulness from the first and second series. These two things combined in Borderlands 3 seemed to fail to make a great set-up for our heroes and villains to come in (Of course, this isn’t the MAIN problem lol).