My Thoughts? No need to hate

So like many of you, I’m sure, I put countless hours into all of the HW releases. I put countless hours exploring and assisting the mod community in tweaking files to fine tune ship behavior. I put countless hours playing Star Wars/Trek skirmish and Lan games with the AI and my friends. I know the original game inside and out from a players perspective. I even tried to use all sorts of workarounds to get either of the two games to run on a more modern PC with their original disks. So yeah, I love HW. I’m a fanboy, money hat, whatever.

I’ve been seeing a lot of anger, frustration, and bewilderment by a lot of people on these and other forums in regards to a lot of the Remaster’s lack of HW1 mechanics, mostly due to the engine switch. I am by no means a programmer, but I did follow the dev cycle of this game closely for my own interest and to make sure I would actually want to play it. The trials and tribulations the dev team seemed to have gone through just get a lot of the assets for recoding sounded like they were trying to solve a 10 year old cold case murder.

All that being said, and it has been said nicely and not so nicely here, there are some things that are not the same. Only the dev’s can say if their omission or lack of functionality can be attributed to having to use the HW2 engine, who’s secondary game mechanics are very different from HW1, whist the core gameplay is basically the same.

-Formations
-Support Frigates
-Tactics

These three things seem to be the most brought up issues with the remaster, and I know people have brought up more but these seem to be the ones that create vastly different combat gameplay. This certainly changes how the game feels and acts as compared to its original counterpart. It certainly detracts from a lot of the experiences many of us had 15 years ago when sending our swarms of fighters out in a giant wall or sphere around a cluster of Cap ships.