Naabal Shipyards - an iOS Unit Viewer for HW:RM

Hi Everyone!

Download this application

For those of you who remember, back in the day there was a Homeworld Unit Viewer. I was thoroughly adored with this game way before I ever saved up enough money to buy it. I would download the unit viewer and read over all the story and lore on each ship and spend hours just spinning these beautiful ships.

Fast forward to 2015, and now as an iOS engineer I wanted to give back and get to work on a project I really enjoy. So I created Naabal Shipyards, the equivalent of the Unit Viewer from way back when.

You can find the link to the iOS app here, and some screenshots below.

http://php-karrwinn.rhcloud.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/iOS-Simulator-Screen-Shot-May-1-2015-7.30.00-AM.png

http://php-karrwinn.rhcloud.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/iOS-Simulator-Screen-Shot-May-1-2015-11.36.13-AM.png

It’s nothing fancy and is pretty rough, but it gets the job done. I want to continue to build it out over time, and if you’re interested in helping out with assets or coding, I’d be more than happy to chat about how to make this a real community creation. Things I think we should do:

• Add team colors
  • Add background changing
  • Add animations
  • Add shadow options
  • Add music

Feel free to peruse some of the other articles I put together on how this app was built:
Project Naabal Shipyard Page
How to extract assets
How to load assets into iOS SceneKit

Also! As Super Sajuuk pointed out, and something I want to be clear, is that I don’t know any of the content in the app itself. All material for the application comes from

• Gearbox / RelicNews
  • Encyclopedia Hiigara
  • Homeworld Shipyards

And always, am interested in more accurate information :smile:

5 Likes