Need some Montana help

I started playing Montana recently and I think I grasped how to play him, espicailly offensively but not so much defensively. If anyone could answer this questions I will be very thankfull:

1. How do you utilize his DR from skills? I heard about people tanking sentries but whenever I try it ends bad…

2. When do you use your Ult in terms of DR? At the start of a fight, or when you get low on HP?

3. Is it a good idea to use Hailstrom and Ult at the same time for more DR or it is simply an overkill?

4. What gear types and specific legendaries would you use for him? Does recoil reduction helps his accuracy or doesn’t have a big impact?

I’ve never played him but I’ve played against hundreds and read a lot.

1. Idk. Sorry.
  2. People tend to use it when they’re halfway down. Enough to know you’ll need it but enough to last.
  3. I’ve yet to see many do this for some reason. I have heard of possible diminishing returns on DR so that may be a factor.
  4. Max health and healing recieved. And accuracy is not imported by recoiled reductuon, just how much your gun moves up when you shoot
1 Like

His ult is also often used for team fights, as for tanking the sentry is a late game thing often used in tandem with instant payback

1 Like

There isn’t a gear item that procs accuracy bonuses at the moment, so you’re kinda stuck with that one.

I actually have an Eldrid-style Montana gear loadout somewhere, giving +420 (blaze it) max health, +11 health regen per second (+15 when under 50% health), +5.5 damage resistance and +8% movement speed. It does completely remove my shield though. He’s hella tanky, but not much damage and he’s still spray-and-pray most of the time.

Tanks are generally the part of the team that the squishies quite literally hide behind to pop out and get kills - chances are you won’t end up with a lot of kills, but you’ll probably be racking up the assists.

1 Like