No skill points when leveling

Hi guys,

I’m a new Borderlands player, and only recently started playing the first game after getting both BL and BL2 with expansions from Humble Bundle for a steal. I’m playing the game completely alone (SP), but I must say I’m enjoying it quite a bit this way. I’m kind of a SP guy these days.

Anyway, I started playing with Mordecai as he suits my preferred play style more (Sniper/Hunter, I know, it’s lame). I really enjoy the game and quite like all of it, except that I think I’ve found a bug:

I’m not getting skill points to spend on my skill tree when I level up. This started happening once I reached Level 23. At first I thought I was imagining it, but I checked over the past week and I’m definitely not. My last skill point I received at Level 22, and since then there was nothing. I’m at Level 26 now and I specifically checked for the points once Ieveled up at Level 24, 25 and yesterday to 26. No points. The Exp points count up, HP increases, damage to lower level enemies increases, I get the whole message flashing across the screen that I’ve leveled now, but no skill points to spend in my skill tree. I’m slightly bummed about this as I was building my tree with a plan but I cannot reach the things I want to now as I’m not getting any points. Google produced no results over the past three days so here I am, asking a bunch of way more experienced people about my problems. Sounds like a psychiatrists’ visit… :stuck_out_tongue:

Anyway, any help/hints/tips/advice? I really don’t want to start over as I’ve got about 18 hours of play time on the game and I’m not very good with “do everything over”. I’ll rather stick it out and try going on this way…

1 Like

That’s bizarre.

You could fix it with WillowTree, which (among many other things) allows you to add skill points to your save. So, each time you level up you can save your game, open it in WT, add a skill point, then spend it as soon as you start the game up again.