[QUESTION] Error: "Mesh with radius greater then 20km"

@sastrei @Dom2 @radar3301 I know that I once found a way to sidestep or avoid this limitation in HW2, but I have forgotten the solution. Can someone please tell me what I need to do to avoid this error?

*A little background: I am an artist as well as a modder. I am currently painting (traditional/pastel) an image of Uranus from the vicinity of its moon, Ariel with the latter in the foreground. I figured; what better way to create a rough reference photo than to use Homeworld (2 in my case) and then do a screenshot? Of course, I could make the uranus hod smaller with the same result, but I keep running into this 20km limitation when I am modding, so why not find a solution now, right?

Examples of my work:

Anyone?

Have a look at the gearbox background examples. There is a planet in there.

1 Like

Thank you @Dom2, but unless I am misunderstanding you, you are misunderstanding me. I am neither looking for a background nor am I just looking for an image of Uranus. I am specifically looking for a solution to the “Mesh with radius greater than 20km” limitation in HW2.

Break it up into several smaller objects:

1 Like

I appreciate the help, however; it doesn’t seem to be a map-size problem, but a mesh-size limitation in HW2. I am simply attempting to use a textured sphere as a planet. I have seen others use huge, single-hod structures (e.g. pln_halo in the Homefront Mod is at least 100km in diameter if not more) and yet I am not sure how they are avoiding (or voiding) this seemingly innate limitation in HW2, but they do.

As well, just so that I am not misunderstood, the Uranus “ship” is at the center of the map ( 0, 0, 0, ) with Ariel at an appropriate distance. I am not putting anything off-map.

I have settled with a Uranus of just less than 20km, which is fine for my purposes in regards to the painting, but I do wish to pursue a solution to the 20km mesh limit at which the engine seems to be balking.