Shaders, Custom Shaders, Awesome Shaders

So, had an awesome conversation with BitVenom where he imparted way more information than I could possibly hope to remember (curse my not recording the convo!)

Essentially, custom shaders are not only possible, he set up a system that makes it easy for us to do so.

Creating a custom shader is pretty damn easy. I’m a total noob at shader stuff, so he had to give me a crash course.

GBX is going to be updating the list on the left (hod_alias.manifest) - we modders get to use the list on the right (mod_alias.manifest) so our custom shaders don’t get broken by GBX updates.

You can override shader paramaters using markers in the 3dsMax file. Meaning you don’t have to write a one-off shader for a given ship, you can tweak an existing one.

Parallax shaders - possible, but expensive, why GBX chose not to implement them.

Add this string “-allowProgramReloads 1” to your HomeworldRM.exe shortcut to allow editing of your shader files while you have the game running. You also have to edit sob_share_ship.imp and uncomment the “debugReload” line and change the interval to suit.

If you create a custom shader, you’ll have to add it to SHADERS.MAP so Hodor can understand it. FYSA: GBX updates will overwrite this file.

Graphics menu options are not hardcoded. They populate from the shader code. For example the shadow options:

Shaders have a concept of time now - I’m not entirely clear on this one. HWR can also use geometry shaders (tesselation).

Bitvenom recommends sticking to a custom namespace when creating custom shaders (ie sob_brick_ship).

Edit 3/12: Realized I forgot to put up the comparison photos BV requested.

More stuff here, I think I played a whole MP game with the modified shaders as the ships didn’t seem as shiny as usual. Much to Bitvenom’s consternation I am sure, I am not as good at discerning visible alterations and details as I need to be. :slight_smile: