Shift Display Name?

I started up Borderlands 2 and got a message I need to create a shift display name, but no matter what I type in it tells me that there is a internal error setting the display name. I am unable to play the game because of this. What is the way to fix this?

Never seen that before. Can you set it via https://shift.gearboxsoftware.com/account at all?

1 Like

It’s fixed! Thanks anyway.

How did you manage to resolve the issue?

1 Like

I have the same problem. What solution did you find?

I have the same issue, whatever I type I get the “There was an internal error setting the display name.” This is my first time playing. I can’t get into the game.

• I tried Deleting my profile.bin file
  • I tried unlinking and linking SHiFT account from my Epic account
  • I tried redownloading the whole game
  • I tried verifying the game
  • I tried changing my name to different things using https://shift.gearboxsoftware.com/account

I can’t get past that screen no matter what I do.

The only thing I can suggest at this point is to file a support ticket for assistance. I know a few folks were having trouble connecting for multiplayer through SHIFT on PC yesterday, but there wasn’t anything on the SHIFT Status Twitter feed when I checked.

https://gearboxsoftware.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/categories/360002121592-Borderlands-3#

I’m still having this issue, has a solution been found?

Same, I tried deactivating the SHiFT account and re-activating it … and still get the same issue.

So the advice I was given by @VaultHunter101 was to make sure I’m signed out of every service except for the one I’m trying to use. I play BL on Steam so I had to make sure to sign out of Epic and make sure it wasn’t running in the background. Then it worked for me. Do the same for all your gaming platforms linked to SHiFT then it will probably work. If not then just file a support ticket. Hope it helps

1 Like

Glad that worked for you!