Some feedback - not a fan, sorry :(

TL;DR: Has a MOBA rather than FPS feel thanks to the time it takes to kill anything, but doesn’t work well thanks to too much visual noise, poor minimap, plus the FPS viewpoint combined with collision mechanics. As an FPS it’s too floaty and loose to feel satisfying, and strong emphasis on melee elements of the game leave a sour taste thanks to the 1st person view. Nice characterisation, just doesn’t work for me thanks to the game mechanics chosen by the developers.

Hey all, hope you’re enjoying the Open Beta and trying out this new game. I wish it no ill will (quite the opposite) but I’ve come to the conclusion for myself that it’s just not got what it needs to be a game that is going to be enjoyed universally.

I’m relatively new to MOBA style games, but I am a veteran of FPS games including tactical/strategic FPS games; it was the latter that I was really coming to Battleborn expecting to get my enjoyment, yet it unfortunately fails to really scratch the right itch in either department. My perspective is largely from Multiplayer play, I don’t really have much quarrel with the campaign side of the game but that was never going to be the reason anyone sticks with this game.

I’m sure some people are saying “It’s not a MOBA” or similar, but the reality is that it’s pretty damn close, close enough to draw comparison and those comparisons aren’t too favourable.

It’s clear from playing that you need a good rounded team structure to win, same as in any MOBA, but the game right now doesn’t give you enough information as a beginner as to how to make that rounded out team that covers defense and offense well. While the descriptions of the characters abilities are useful, they are perhaps too specific to the point of being confusing for people starting out.