[SPOILERS] Honoring the Fallen

Alright. Big BIG spoilers for anyone who hasn’t completed the game. I’ll try to use the spoiler tag for anything, but I’ve never used it in forums before so who knows if I’ll type it right on my first try!

By now, pretty much everyone knows about Maya’s death.

I don’t want to complain or talk anymore about how it didn’t make sense for the character or how disappointing it was. Honestly I’ve spent too many sad boi hours on it already.

But I did want to raise the topic that I really hope in DLC/future content, we get a proper way to mourn/honor those we lost.

I really felt Maya’s death was rushed over and we didn’t have any time to acknowledge her loss within the storyline.

Compared to the way that Roland’s death was handled in BL2, I really feel this is disappointing. I may have been okay with the poor writing in the way the death happened if at least we had some kind of side quest to set up a memorial or something.

Hell, Roland gets his own named location in BL3 complete with a huge statue of him covered in signatures and nice remarks from our favorite characters. Dragon’s Keep ended up being hugely emotional and so successful because of how it explored Tina’s ability to cope with the loss of Roland. I mean, and also because of D&D, but that’s a separate topic.

Does anyone else feel the same way? Do you think we will see an effort to honor our fallen favorite characters?

More than anything, I’m afraid that because Lilith is “gone,” she is going to get all the memorials etc in DLC, and Maya is just going to get left behind. But since Ava was close to her and she’s in charge, maybe we’ll see her do something right to honor Maya? And I’m not talking about like a gun trinket or something stupid again. I’m talking like at least a couple side missions or a special location or—heck—it’s own DLC (but I know that’s wishful thinking).

What is everyone else’s thoughts on this?

4 Likes