The AI question

I have played Borderlands 2 for about 800+ hours, i have played borderlands for 50+ hours and BL:TPS around 300+ hours and in all three games i stumble upon the same issue, the AI.

Just to clarify i am no expert at this field of work and im not gonna act like i am. I have never scripted an AI and have never made an AI, however i am an observant gamer and i know a flaw when i see one. Borderlands 2 specifically has this problem, too many times i see npc enemies run behind cover that are completely exposed, run away from you when you are in fight for your life because you are technically not an enemy.

I know this complaint is late into development and bl3 is coming out in september but from all the gameplay reveals i have seen this AI problem hasn’t seemed to change. Overall borderlands 3 seems like a really good game but this is the biggest beef i have with the borderlands games and i as a gamer would like to see it fixed one day.

1 Like

Actually, that seems like a clear sign of the AI developing sentience - wouldn’t you run away and hide under those circumstances? :wink:

Joking aside, this is simply the predefined behaviour of certain enemy classes - they will always shoot, back-pedal, and take cover while reloading even when you aren’t in FFYL.

In the same way, there are others that will always charge straight at you, and either blow themselves (and you) up with a grenade or keep whacking at you right up to the point when the blue swirly tunnel takes over.

As much as I hate the ones that duck and hide, part of playing the game is learning to prioritize and have tools on hand to deal with any situation (like a Nukem, homing grenades, or a Hail). At least they don’t taunt you (like the engine-controlled opponents in Battleborn versus maps) - that was just embarrassing.

1 Like