The Battleborn One Year Anniversary Thread (This Might Take A While)

For the one year anniversary of Battleborn, I decided to write up a little piece about what the game means to me. But before I really get in to the amazing experience I’ve had with Battleborn over this past year, I feel I must start off with a confession. And the confession must begin with Borderlands.

I only started playing the Borderlands series in 2015 through Tales from the Borderlands. Telltale had just put the first episode out for free, and with nothing else to do on the Sunday afternoon of October 25 I downloaded it on whim. I wanted to see what Telltale had become, since I hadn’t played a Telltale game since they were still doing the old-school point and click style games like Sam and Max. From the moment Henderson’s body floated past the window and upon hearing Vasquez’s reaction, I was hooked. This was what Borderlands was? Not being a huge shooter fan I hadn’t tried any of the other games, assuming I wouldn’t like them. But this universe, this style of humour…this was something I could get behind! Borderlands mania washed over me. For my birthday in November my mother (who is evidently the person I get my sense of humour from, since she watched me play most of Tales and enjoyed the hell out it) gifted me the Handsome Collection. For Christmas I got all four of the Borderlands Pop Vinyls from various family members. As 2016 rolled on, I purchased a used copy of the Borderlands 1 Game of the Year edition and played through that. All of this happened while I joined in with the community on Telltale’s forums as speculation ran rampant about what the fate of Rhys and Fiona might be. “We won’t know until Borderlands 3,” was the consensus. “And we won’t know anything about Borderlands 3 for a while because Gearbox is focused on their new game, Battleborn.”