The Musician's Thread

Any musicians on the forums? This is the thread to talk about your musical hobbies, instruments, play style, and really anything related to playing music.

I have been shopping for a new guitar lately, and I have been hesitant to bite the bullet on anything. I’ve always been a Fender head, but lately have been looking into Gretsch guitars, and maybe an Ibanez artcore. I want an arch top, but I may hold off and get a little bit cheaper acoustic (I’ve never owned one). Just looking for a pretty guitar that has a good volume when unplugged.

I play most instrument but I main Bass Guitar.
I am a self learned bassist and its the first instrument I learnt to play which is why its closest to my heart.

I do it mainly as a hobby but I made a few songs for fun with friends.

Yeah, I play guitar and bass, but I only do it for fun. I’m not interested in being in a band.

I haven’t been in a band since high school (graduated '06). I would love to find a band, and now that I’m back in college I could probably find some people pretty easy, but I need to play more to feel good enough to play in a band again.

You see, I know I’m not good enough for a band, so that’s why I play for fun instead of performance.

You dont need to know a lot of chords to make good music, all you need to have is good rhythm.

I was more referring to my memory. I can do three chord punk just fine, but if a section of a song has a lot to it, then I just can’t remember it. Example: Black Flag’s My War, I can play the song just fine, but the intro and interlude, I can never remember.

Another bass guitarist here. Also play acoustic guitar, keyboards, do some writing etc. Really need to replace my 25-year old 4-string with a five - the neck has a bad warp in it, and it would cost more to fix than the bass is worth.