The Unyielding Desire for Pearlescents - What is Rarity?

For better or worse the Borderlands series is the first video game series where I dealt with item rarity being associated with labels and colors. Item grading for me was a scale of poor to excellent. The item stats reflected this. My approach to gear choices reflected this when I started playing these games. I ignored rarity in favor of stats, and of course the game design defied this logic many a time to reward me.

Having said that , what is rarity?

Is it fair to say it’s a combination of drop rate, item stats/ features, and drop source?
  • Yes
  • No

0 voters

Let’s call the combination of the above factors Functional Rarity

Having said that,

Is the attachment to Rarity Labels and Colors Sentimental?
  • Yes
  • No

0 voters

And finally,

Does Functional Rarity lose value to you if the items are not given a unique label and color?
  • Yes
  • No

0 voters

1 Like

Didn’t vote on the last question because my answer is “it’s complicated”.

In BL3 specifically I like how Legendaries (as the highest tier) are highlighted on the minimap. I love the intensity of the beam effect and the sound as one drops. That, to me, is a part of the “value”. It’s sentimental, but it’s value.

This therefore affects the functional rarity, because unless I’m going to really deep-dive into the item to figure out how useful it is to me, the item stats and features remain opaque to me.

It’d be hilarious to me if the ECHO-2 was one of the best grenade mods in the game. It isn’t (I mean, it’s not weak, but it’s nowhere near my radar when it comes to builds). So I guess my answer possibly leans towards “no”? But it still has red text, so.

In a completely new game, I’d say “no”. But in Borderlands, “red text” means “unique” and there are tiers of quality on top / accompanying that. You could do away with one, and have a particular item still have value. But you couldn’t do away with both.

1 Like