What happened to no modifier mode?

I thought Mayhem 4 was added because a lot of people didn’t enjoy that the game play experience was altered by the modifiers?

A lot of us wants the game to be challenging while still staying true to the Core Borderlands 3 Game Play Experience. These Modifiers Are completely changing the game play experience. I’m not saying they’re bad. I’m just saying they are in fact changing the game. That you can not deny. And to me, they have changed the game enough to where I don’t want to play the game at all anymore. Mayhem: 4 was the only reason I started playing the game again.

And if you think the game is still staying true to the core borderlands 3 game play experience even with the modifiers, well good for you. But for me, it most certainly does not. I respect your opinion on the matter, so respect mine.

And yes, you can turn off Mayhem mode and you wont get any modifiers. But to me Borderlands has always been about the challenging game play. OP levels were Brutal in Borderlands 2, but there were no modifiers. Borderlands: 1 and Borderlands: TPS had modifiers to a much lesser extent than Borderlands 3. They didn’t affect the entire game at all times. They were contained within specific activities within the game.

16 Likes

Agreed. The ‘hardest’ modifiers don’t actually add real difficulty they just punish certain builds and play styles. Ffyl is an integral part of BL and one modifier takes it away, with another you get enemies completely immune to certain elements - punishing element focussed builds and yet another gives you -75% crit damage to punish actually aiming.

MM4 had modifiers.

Did they ever say there was going to be way to turn off modifiers while turning up the difficulty pAST tvhm?

If I didn’t want to play with these zany combat modifiers, I’d pick MM1 and roll until Lootsplosion came up. It’s the only modifier that has zero effect on combat. I would then balance my gear around making that as hard as I like.