What's the trade off for not having shields?

I don’t see why Thorn doesn’t get a shield. If the trade off was insanely good at damage, like a glass cannon, I could understand but Marquis does just about as good as damage and he still gets a shield.

Of course I’m still new to Battleborn as we all are so maybe I’m not seeing something…

1 Like

Lore can be changed

None of the Space Hippies, sorry, the Eldrid, have shields.

1 Like

Oh… but what’s the trade off for not having shields? MOBA’s need to be balanced or else…

Yup, that.

The health regen that would take extremely long to get back anywhere near full health? Yeah that’s not worth it.

Mellka can poison enemies and gains significant (whole chunks at a time) health regen when meleeing poisoned enemies.

The Eldrid don’t use shields because it’s not natural. They all have default health regeneration (something that none of the other factions have), and have more base health. That’s your trade-off.

Well, idk about the other eldrige but Thorn’s tradeoff for having no shield is she gets the absolute worst primary attack in the entire game by a long shot and can heal less than 50 health every 12 seconds if you level her to 7 first.

Shields aren’t nearly as infallible as you seem to think. Shields already aren’t that thick and break easy, and once those shields are gone all you have is health that slowly whittles away. All you have to do is break someone’s shields enough and they’ll have nothing. And rocking Reyna or Orendi with some Shield Pen and in even the thickest barriers turn to paper. So as natural game mechanics are that there’s a counter to everything, Eldrid are great with healy supports and against those that tear through shields.