Why can't we "un-choose" characters at the char select screen in PVP?

i’m new to moba type games so pardon my potential obliviousness.

But, why can’t we un-select chars at the select screen prior to a pvp match?

Like…im in a pub game and 4 random pubs w me go non healer. And the 5th final guy of course then goes non healer. I wanna then say “lol, okay - let me just transfer to a healer then”.

Why can’t we do this yet? it seems essential in a game that prides itself in team competition.

If it is not in currently, is there a reason? And will this “feature” (i use the term loosely) be put in? Or else, everyone picks characters blind in pub games. Will the pending drafting remedy this issue?

2 Likes

This is something I’ve wondered as well. The best answer I can come up with is that it saves time and people constantly switching between characters while unique characters are off. (I.E. if you and I are playing and I keep switching btwn characters so you’re having trouble picking one). Curious to see what others think about this too.

They’re changing that with the upcoming winter update, then you’ll be able to deselect.

4 Likes

Really?! Bout f**king time! Nothing worse then picking your favorite character im a hurry, seeing the terrible character choices your random teammates make, and then pulling an “instant-transmission Kamehameha Cell” face:

4 Likes

GOOD NEWS, EVERYBODY

As stated they’re going to allow de-selection with the Winter Update that’s coming “SOON”.

2 Likes

I don’t get it… Are you not trying to go for the futurama reference? I think this option is pretty cool… Lol

You probably didn’t see it, but there was a stream detailing the next big update.

They will be adding this feature in some time before new years. As for why, I assume they were trying to make it a defining feature, but it just ended up hurting the product.