YouTube Monetization

Hey guys! SOOOO excited for the Remastered release! Already pre-ordered!!! In preparation for the release i’ve started up a Let’s Play of the original that I found collecting dust in one of my drawers. I had a question with regards to the Classic and Remastered version of the games.

Are we, as video creators, allowed to monetize videos of the game? We need to have some kind of proof of approval from developers and just wanted to see as I haven’t found anything on Google.

Either way i’m making videos because this game is too epic to leave alone!

Keep doing what you guys do best!
Nolic0321

I’m no expert, but I think you can. Loads of people do.

1 Like

The situation is certainly not that clear, look at Nintendo’s take on this for instance: http://www.gameinformer.com/b/news/archive/2015/01/29/nintendo-still-wants-a-cut-of-your-youtube-revenue.aspx

That aside, you might also face issues from Youtube itself. For instance in a video I did of Elite Dangerous the Blue Danube was playing (it’s part of the game) and I received a DMCA claim about it. I could see the same thing happening if you were to record and share the introduction of Homeworld 1 with Barber’s Agnus Dei in the background.

And if the developers gave you permission to monetize it then you could have fought it…you would need proof of some sort (email, forum post, etc) but you could have fought it. Really i’m looking to get the developers permission as YouTube looks for this. It also could be how you were playing it…if you weren’t doing your own commentary over the video and just playing it that could be why YouTube made a claim against it. It all really depends. I’m going to try to email the company today and post their response on here for future video creators!

Developers’ permission was not the issue here, the DMCA claim was actually from another party, I guess I wasn’t clear enough. And frankly, no point fighting in my case as it was made for a bugreport.